Throwing all the food together, improv

img_7653

“Drink your food, chew your water”

Something my room mate said today, and what he gave me when I asked him for a quote.

Anyway, today I came home and needed to come up with some easy food with what I had in the house, I had a few items from other meals I had made that I needed to use. The basics I had were

   1. Curry paste

2.Scallions

3. Pasta

4.Cabbage

5.Peanuts

6. Potatoes

7. Almond milk

img_7641

I boiled 2 potatoes which I peeled and cut up in water with baking soda and salt. Baking soda is helpful because it lets the potatoes crisp up more once put in the oven. I used about 1/2 tsp or less of baking soda.

img_7647

After about 8 minutes once they were fork tender,  I mixed the potatoes on a pan with oil, salt and turmeric. Then put in the oven which was on broil. The oven was likely not at the right temperature (my oven doesn’t tell me when it’s preheated) because it took over 10 minutes, which I would think broiling would take less. So I put it on broil and constantly checked the potatoes.

img_7642

I cut the cabbage and scallions up. For the cabbage I threw it in a pan, which first I put in oil and a minced clove of garlic. Then I added some water to let the cabbage soften more. I did have to drain the water afterwards.

img_7646

While the cabbage cooked and potatoes roasted, I added about a tbsp of red curry paste and under 1/2 cup of almond beverage to a pot. I also added black pepper, nutritional yeast, tapioca starch to thicken, and salt.

img_7650

The pasta was also cooked to package directions. I made this after potatoes in the same pot with the same water to boil. Then I strained the pasta and used the same pot for the sauce. After it was done I added the pasta to the sauce, then mixed it all together. img_7653

I threw the scallions and peanuts on top afterwards.

img_7654

And boom! Easy 30 minute meal that was very cheap aswell.

Leave a Reply

