Cheap Foods, Eating IN

img_7224

Eating out gets expensive, so I choose time over spending more money. I went to the grocery store around the corner and bought some staples like cous cous and pasta, along with avocados, a plantain, a big bag of potatoes and tomato paste.

img_7225

Above is my receipt. All together it was $12.17, which is about what I’d spend going out to eat. img_7226

For the potatoes today I tried make fondant potatoes. To do that you peel the potato with a knife and cut the ends off so it is a cylinder shape. After soak in water for 5 minutes to get some starchiness out.

img_7228

With some olive oil on a caste iron I cooked the potatoes and flipped once golden brown. I then added some earth balance and rosemary.

I added some veggie buillon to boiling water to make veggie broth, and added about 1/3 of a cup or more to the caste iron. These then went in the oven a bit over 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

img_7227

For the plantains I cut them into 1 inch pieces, putting them in water as I go so they don’t discolor.

img_7232

After I mixed them in with about a tbsp of olive oil, salt and turmeric, I put them in the oven for 10 minutes.

img_7233

I cut up a rectangle from a trader joes bag to flatten the plantains.

img_7235

I folded the bag over the plantains and then smashed with a mason jar. You could also use a plate.

img_7236

I then put them in the oven, with the browned side up for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

Cous cous was then made to go with the dish and everything was taken out of the oven and done!!!!

img_7242

 

Leave a Reply

