The weather is getting cold, egg nog time

img_6600

The cold weather is here in North Carolina, and Halloween has passed. Therefore it’s a suitable time to start making Christmas foods and drinks!

My disclaimer is I don’t condone using eggs or milk from animals if you aren’t getting it from a clean source aka a friend or your own farm. There are ways to veganize the egg nog bread I made, and I will list how to.

Egg nog 

2 eggs, beaten

4 tbsp sugar

2 + 1/3 cup milk

1/4 of a cinnamon stick

1/4 tsp cardamom

1/4 tsp clove

1/4 tsp nutmeg

 

 

It began with making the egg nog. I used about equal parts clove, cardamom, nutmeg and some cinnamon sticks which I grinded up.

Then I whisked eggs, sugar, and the spices together. I heated with the milk in a  saucepan, and let sit in fridge 3 hours.

img_6582

For the bread I mixed the basic ingredients of flour, sugar,baking soda, baking powder, salt. If you search egg nog bread, you can find this recipe online. To make this vegan, you can add vegan egg nog as the alternative. If I were to make this vegan, I would also use 1 banana as an egg replacer.

A cinnamon and water mixture was made to incorporate on top of the bread

For the frosting, I mixed powdered sugar, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom. About a pinch of each spice. Then I drizzled this over the top of the bread. It turned out super delicious!!

Leave a Reply

