Simple Meals, Cheap, Easy, Hungry

“I think careful cooking is love, don’t you? The loveliest thing you can cook for someone who’s close to you is about as nice a valentine as you can give.”-Julia Child

Cooking for other people is  one of my favorite things to do. It is an act of service that is symbiotic and feels as though I’m doing something for myself aswell.

I went over to Hopey and Co last night, which is a grocery store with items a lot cheaper than normal. I haven’t had to go grocery shopping in a few weeks, so I was a little lost.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I ended up buying 2 big potatoes, some fakin bacon bits, and tofu. This was all around $5 and enough to serve 2.5 people.

For the mashed potatoes, I boiled cut up potatoes for about 20 minutes. After I added approximately 3 tbsp of earth balance, 1/4 cup of flax milk and a little bit of salt. On top of that I added the fakin bacon bits.

For the tofu I used what was available. I mixed mostly balsamic with a bit of olive oil, thyme, garlic salt, and sesame garlic mix. I baked at 375 F for about 15 minutes, and flipped the tofu and baked a bit longer until crispy on both sides. For the kale I just sauted that in some olive oil.

img_6671

I also baked up some polymer clay to make spirals for my ears and a dread bead! Then I battered it in glitter. Cooked at 275 for 15 minutes.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The clay cost me around $2 and I still have a bit left. Out of that $2 are new spirals, a dread bead, and potentially more dread beads! Wooo

img_6676

Leave a Reply

