Creating, birthday potluck 

img_6095

“You learn to cook so that you don’t have to be a slave to recipes. You get what’s in season and you know what to do with it.”- Julia Child

The past week I have had a lot of good kitchen time. My friend Daniels birthday potluck made for a couple of days of making delicious food.  Above is a cookie dough cake covered in chocolate and a key lime pie

img_6060

Brett made the cookie dough (vegan) and I shaped it into a heart

img_6062

To make the chocolate, I mixed cocoa powder, maple syrup and coconut oil with a chunk of dark chocolate. I melted this on the stove.

img_6065

The cookie dough was then smothered with chocolate and covered in cacao nibs!!

img_6072

We also took some time to make cashew cheese. It was a mix of soaked cashews water, seasonings, tapioca flour and agar powder.

img_6056

The mixture was put in the blender and then heated on the pan for about 10 minutes until thickened.

img_6057

We put the cheese mixture in measuring cups in order to mold (made use of what we had), and refrigerated for about an hour.

img_6077

The seitan buffalo “wings” turned out delicious. I made the seitan dough as I normally do, (in my vegan fried “chicken” recipe) and once cooked I battered in flour, then a mix of lime and rice milk, last panko, paprika, salt and pepper. After baking at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes I mixed the wings in a buffalo sauce, ketchup, sugar, lime juice, coconut oil mixture and cooked for 10 more minutes.

On the the right is the sundried tomatoe and basil hummus. It was a joint effort of me, Matthew, and Brett. It tastes like pizza flavoring to me, so I call it pizza hummus. Below is the recipe that made this(for the most part).

Pizza Hummus 

1 can chickpeas

2 cloves garlic

Half a lemon

2/3 cup of water

1/3 cup tahini

4 tbsp basil

1/4 cup sundried tomatoes

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp sea salt

Blend it all up in a food processor or vitamix! You got yourself pizza hummus. Hell yeah and namaste! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

