Calzones 

 


Yesterday I decided to venture into the kitchen to make some calzones. Currently I have a lot of extra time on my hands and teaching myself what I can makes me feel accomplished . 

I didn’t record the process of a calzone because well.. I didn’t think about blogging until making the filling. Maybe another blog for the calzone dough! So new learned information is that the difference between a Stromboli and calzone is a Stromboli is rolled while a calzone is folded. NOT that a calzone is sauceless. I filled mine with tomatoe sauce, pre made pesto, and cashew “cheese”


Here’s what I put in the cashew cheese. About a tbsp of nutritional yeast, enough salt, a tsp of liquid aminos, 2 cloves of garlic , about 1/4 cup of water and probably 3/4  cup of cashews

For the tomatoe sauce i put in some basil, red pepper flakes, nutritional yeast , salt and sugar.


The I layed out my ingredients. The best method was add pesto, tomatoe sauce, then cashew cheese



They rose for 45 minutes more after adding filling, then they were oven ready! This whole process took probably 3-4 hours. But was totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

